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INTRODUCTION 
 
Completion of the Basic Course Waiver process is an option for meeting California’s Regular Basic 
Course training requirement. The Regular Basic Course is the training requirement for POST-program 
city police officers, sheriff's deputies, marshals, district attorney investigators, campus police officers, 
park police, Level I reserve peace officers, and a few miscellaneous peace officer positions identified in 
the California Penal Code.  
 
An individual must successfully complete the entire Basic Course Waiver (BCW) process to obtain a 
waiver. Completion of the BCW process does NOT constitute the issuance of a POST Basic Certificate. 
 
Agency sponsorship is not required to participate in the BCW process. Acceptance of a waiver for 
meeting the Regular Basic Course training standard is at the discretion of the employing agency.  
 
The BCW is a four-step process for evaluating prior law enforcement training and experience, and testing 
knowledge and skill levels. The steps must be completed in the order shown. Fees are charged for Steps 
2 and 3. 
 

 
BASIC COURSE WAIVER (BCW) PROCESS 

 
The BCW is a four-step process for evaluating prior law enforcement training, and testing knowledge 
and skill levels.  The steps must be completed in the order shown.  Fees are charged for Steps 2 
and 3. 
 
Step 1:  
APPLICATION/ 
SELF-ASSESSMENT 
(Pages 2 - 4) 

 
Step 2:   
POST TRAINING 

EVALUATION 
(Page 4)   

 
Step 3:  
BASIC COURSE WAIVER 

EXAMINATION (BCWE)  
(Page 5) 

 
Step 4:  
WAIVER ISSUANCE 
(Page 5) 

 
The application/self-
assessment must include 
verification of successful 
completion of: 

 at least a 200-hour 
general law 
enforcement basic 
course, 

 at least 664 hours of 
general law 
enforcement training 
(including basic 
course), 

 the legislatively 
mandated training 
included in the Regular 
Basic Course, and 

 at least one year of 
general law 
enforcement 
experience. 

 
The applicant’s self-
assessment and 
supporting documents 
are evaluated to 
determine if the general 
law enforcement training 
and experience 
requirements outlined in 
Step 1 have been met.     

 
The BCWE includes both 
written and skill 
components. 

The written component 
consists of a multiple-
choice examination that 
measures knowledge of 
the Regular Basic Course 
curriculum.  

The skills component 
consists of an 
assessment of critical 
skills, such as firearms 
and defensive tactics.  

Both components can be 
satisfied by completing 
either the 136-hour 
minimum Requalification 
Course or by testing. 

 
The waiver letter granted 
by POST waives the 
required completion of a 
California POST-certified 
Regular Basic Course 
and is valid for three 
years. 

 
No fee 

 
$75 fee 

 
Fees vary by presenter 

 
No fee 
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Step 1: APPLICATION/SELF-ASSESSMENT 

 
MINIMUM ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

 
Eligibility for the Basic Course Waiver process is based on meeting the requirements outlined in the table 
below. 

 
 
Prior General Law 
Enforcement Basic Course 
Training  

 
Successful completion of a 200-hour or longer general law enforcement basic 
training course:  
 
 certified or approved by California POST or a similar standards-setting 

agency of another state in the U.S., OR 
 California Reserve Modules A, B, & C Courses, OR 
 a federal agency general law enforcement basic course (i.e., FLETC’s Mixed 

Basic, Basic and BIA Police Courses may meet this requirement.). 
 
Note: Military Basic, Military Police, and specialized (i.e., US Customs, Border 
Patrol, INS, FBI, DEA) training do not meet this prerequisite. 

 
Minimum General Law 
Enforcement Training 
Required  

 
Successful completion of at least 664 hours of general law enforcement training to 
meet the minimum hours required in California’s Regular Basic Course. The 664-
hour minimum training requirement may include the applicant’s basic course. 

 
Completion of Legislatively 
Mandated Training Subjects 

 
Successful completion of the legislatively mandated training subjects included in 
the Regular Basic Course and outlined in the Legislatively Mandated Training 
Worksheet. 

 
General Law Enforcement 
Experience 

 
Successful completion of at least one year of sworn general law enforcement 
experience as attested to by the employing department head, training officer, or 
personnel officer. 

 
 
APPLICATION 
 
The applicant must read and complete the Basic Course Waiver Application (POST 2-267) as indicated 
below: 
 

1. Complete Section 1 of the form. Include a daytime or message telephone number. 
2. Complete, sign and date Section 2.  

 
SELF-ASSESSMENT 
 
The applicant may compare the training he/she has received with the subjects on the Legislatively 
Mandated Training Worksheet (see page 9) and write the Learning Domain Reference (LD REF) number 
next to the comparable subject on his/her training outline, certificate and/or training record. The 
minimum hours for each Legislatively Mandated Training requirement must be met to be eligible 
for Step 3 (BCW Examination) of the process.  
 
DOCUMENTATION OF TRAINING 
 
Photocopies of training documents are required for all training hours. All training document 
photocopies must be legible and complete. 
  



Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training 

WAIVER OF ATTENDANCE AT A POST-CERTIFIED 
REGULAR BASIC COURSE 

Basic Course Waiver Package – BTB 3 March 9, 2015 

 
 
 
Acceptable Training 

 
Proof of Course Completion and Content 

 
Basic Course - 200 hour 
or longer general law 
enforcement basic 
training course 

 
1. Submit a certificate of course completion issued by the school/ 
 academy or a letter of verification signed by the school/academy 
 director on school/academy letterhead, AND  
2. Submit a course outline, schedule or syllabus with the same dates as 
 the academy course completion certificate. 

 
In-Service 

 
1. Submit an agency-issued certificate of course completion, OR 
2. Submit an agency training record (typed, handwritten or computer-
 generated) with the agency training officer's original signature, 
 printed/typed name, and the signature/date on each page. 

 
Other Law Enforcement 
Courses 

 
1. Submit a certificate of course completion issued by the school or 
 agency or a letter of verification signed by the training officer on 
 letterhead, AND  
2. Submit a course outline, schedule or syllabus with the same dates as 
 the course completion certificate, if the topic is not clearly defined by 
 the course title.* 

 
College/University 
General Law 
Enforcement Related 
Courses 

 
1. Submit an official college transcript issued by an accredited college 
 where the courses were taken. A passing grade must have been 
 awarded. (Grade reports and work-in-progress reports are not 
 acceptable.) AND 

2. Submit a course catalog description or syllabus for the dates the 
 course was attended, if the topic is not clearly defined by the course 
 title.* 

 

College Unit Conversion: One semester unit equals 20 training hours; one 
quarter unit equals 14 training hours. Example: A three-unit semester 
course equals 60 training hours. 

 
 
Non-Qualifying Training  
 
College/University  

 
 Correspondence courses 
 Credit by challenge 
 Life-experience credit 

 
Job Training 

 
 Field training 
 On-the-job training 
 Roll-call training 

 
*REQUIRED PROOF OF COURSE CONTENT 
 
The applicant must provide proof of course content (i.e., outlines), if the course: 
 
 Title is general, such as basic, advanced officer, or in-service; 
 Covers more than one legislatively mandated subject, but the title does not reflect all subjects 

covered; 
 Was longer than one day in length and the certificate does not indicate the total course hours.  

 
The course dates on the outlines must match the completion certificate dates.  
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HANDWRITTEN CHANGES 
 
The training presenter must verify, in writing on agency letterhead, that any handwritten changes were 
authorized by the agency. 
 
PROOF OF SUCCESSFUL GENERAL LAW ENFORCEMENT EXPERIENCE 
 
The applicant must submit an original letter (see Sample Letter, page 7), on agency letterhead and 
signed by the employing department head, training manager, or personnel officer, verifying successful 
completion of at least one year of sworn general law enforcement experience.  
 
GENERAL LAW ENFORCEMENT DEFINED 
 
General law enforcement duties minimally include:  investigating crime, patrolling a geographic area, 
responding to the full range of requests for police services, and performing any enforcement action on 
the full range of law violations.  
 
Training must be sufficient to enable an officer to successfully complete all of the duties outlined above. 
 
EVALUATION FEE 
 
The applicant must send a $75.00 certified check or money order, payable to “Commission on POST.” 
Personal checks are not accepted. 
 
MAIL THE ORIGINAL COMPLETED APPLICATION FORM, ORIGINAL LETTER OF 
EXPERIENCE, COPIES OF ALL SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION, AND FEE TO: 
 

Commission on POST 
Basic Training Bureau - BCW 
860 Stillwater Road, Suite 100 

 West Sacramento, CA 95605 
 

Step 2: POST TRAINING EVALUATION 

 
POST will evaluate the applicant's training if the evaluation package is complete and includes the signed 
Basic Course Waiver Application (POST 2-267), evaluation fee, verification of successful general law 
enforcement experience, and proper documentation of general law enforcement training. The applicant’s 
self-assessment and supporting documents are evaluated to determine if the general law enforcement 
training and experience requirements have been met.  
 
HOW COMPARABLE TRAINING IS DETERMINED 
 
Based on the documentation submitted by the applicant, POST conducts an evaluation of the applicant’s 
training and experience to determine if the applicant meets the minimum requirements of the BCW 
process as outlined in Step 1, above. 
 
HOW APPLICANT IS NOTIFIED 
 
After the evaluation is completed, POST will issue a letter indicating whether the applicant: 
 
 Is eligible to continue the BCW process by taking the Basic Course Waiver Examination (BCWE), or 
 Is ineligible to take the BCWE without obtaining additional training, or 
 Is ineligible to continue the BCW process and needs to complete a POST-certified Regular Basic 

Course before exercising peace officer powers in California. 
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Step 3: BASIC COURSE WAIVER EXAMINATION (BCWE) 

 
EXAMINATION ELIGIBILITY 
 
If POST determines that the applicant meets the training and experience requirements of the BCW 
process, POST will send an eligibility letter with instructions for requesting the BCWE. The BCWE must 
be taken within 180 days (six months) of the eligibility letter date. 
 
The BCWE includes both written and skill components. The written component consists of a 100-
question, multiple-choice, comprehensive examination, covering subjects taught in the Regular Basic 
Course, including California law.  Applicants must obtain a score of at least 77%. The skill component 
consists of an applicant’s successful demonstration of defensive tactics and firearms (handgun and 
shotgun) proficiency. The defensive tactics portion is graded pass/fail. The firearms portion is graded by 
the applicant receiving an acceptable accuracy score as determined by the Requalification Course 
presenter.  

 
The BCWE can be met by successfully completing either the: 
 
 1. 136-hour minimum POST Requalification Course (see attached flyer) at specified basic 

academies in California, or 
 2.  Testing that is available through participating Requalification Course presenters. 

 
RETEST 
 
One retest is allowed for each component. Applicants who fail a retest are not eligible for a waiver, and 
are required to complete a Regular Basic Course prior to exercising peace officer powers in California. 

 
TEST RESULTS 
 
A certificate of course completion or a letter of successful completion of the examinations is issued by the 
presenter at the conclusion of the BCWE. The applicant must mail a photocopy of the completion 
certificate and/or letter to POST, to ensure the issuance of the waiver. 
 
 

Step 4: WAIVER ISSUANCE 

 
Based upon the applicant’s prior training, experience, and successful completion of the BCWE, POST will 
issue a letter that waives the requirement for attendance at a POST-certified Regular Basic Course. 
Acceptance of a waiver is at the discretion of the employing agency. A waiver is NOT equivalent to 
a POST Basic Certificate. 
 
WAIVER VALID FOR THREE YEARS 
 
An individual must be appointed as a California full-time regular peace officer or a Level I reserve officer 
within three years from the date the waiver is granted. After three years, applicants will need to meet the 
requalification requirements outlined in Commission Regulation 1008 of the POST Administrative 
Manual. 
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QUESTIONS? 

 
After you have carefully read the preceding instructions, you can obtain additional information by calling 
the Basic Training Bureau at 916.227.4254 or emailing BCW@post.ca.gov. 
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SAMPLE LETTER* 
 
 
 
 
(DATE) 
 
Commission on POST 
Basic Training Bureau – BCW 
860 Stillwater Road, Suite 100 
West Sacramento CA  95605-1630 
 
Dear BCW Manager: 
 
This letter is to verify that (APPLICANT’S FULL NAME) is/was employed as a sworn (APPLICANT’S 
POSITION) with our department from (DATES OF SERVICE).  During his/her employment, 
(APPLICANT’S NAME) successfully completed at least one-year of general law enforcement experience, 
which included patrolling, responding to the full range of requests for police services, performing 
enforcement actions on the full range of law violations, and conducting investigations of crime. 
 
If you have any questions regarding (APPLICANT’S NAME) employment with our department, please 
give me a call at (AUTHOR’S PHONE NUMBER). 
 
Sincerely, 
 
(ORIGINAL SIGNATURE OF AGENCY HEAD, TRAINING OFFICER, OR PERSONNEL DEPARTMENT       
 OFFICIAL) 
(PRINTED NAME AND TITLE) 
(AGENCY NAME) 
 
 
 
 
*Original letter must be on agency letterhead and mailed with BCW application package. 
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SELF ASSESSMENT TRAINING WORKSHEET  

LD 
Ref Required Subjects (general descriptions) Required 

Hours 

Applicant 
Self-

Assess 
Hours 

POST 
Use 
Only 

1 Leadership, Professionalism & Ethics  (principles and goals, code of ethics) 2   

2 Criminal Justice System  (components of, Constitutional Amendments) 2   

3 Policing in the Community  (community policing/partnerships, SARA, problem solving) 2   

5 Introduction to Criminal Law  (types of law, classification of crimes) 3   

7 Crimes Against Persons 2   

9 Crimes Against Children 4   

10 Sex Crimes 6   

12 Controlled Substances 12   

15 Laws of Arrest 5   

16 Search and Seizure 3   

17a Hearsay Testimony  (presentation of hearsay evidence) 1   

17b Presentation of Evidence  (lawful collection of evidence, rules of evidence) 2   

18 Investigative Report Writing 2   

19 Vehicle Operations 2   

20 Use of Force 3   

25 Domestic Violence 8   

27 Missing Persons 4   

29 Traffic Accident Investigation 12   

30 Crime Scene, Evidence and Forensics 2   

33 Arrest and Control 10   

34 First Aid & CPR  (must include bloodborne pathogens) 21   

35a Chemical Agents  (law enforcement use of OC, CN, CS) 6   

35b Firearms – Handgun 24   

35c Firearms – Shotgun 16   

37 People with Disabilities 4   

38 Gang Awareness 2   

39 Crimes Against the Justice System                
(perjury, bribery, false reporting, resisting/   

1   delaying/threatening an officer) 

41 Hazardous Materials Awareness 4   

42a Cultural Diversity/Discrimination 5   

42b Hate Crimes 4   

42c Racial Profiling 5   

42d Sexual Harassment 2   

43a Emergency Management  8   

43b NIMS/SEMS 8   

 


